Memorial Weekend Memories

Barbara and I got to talking recently about the Memorial Day weekend, and how it used to be the kickoff for the DCA/senior/all-age corps season.

So I figured I'd start a thread where we could share our memories about our drum corps experiences on that weekend.

That weekend in 1977, I marched in my first competitions with the Sunrisers. I was a deer-in-the-headlights rookie, coming from a local-circuit junior corps that had not broken a 60 for two straight seasons.....and in my first show with Sun.... in New Brunswick, NJ.... we scored a 76 and beat the Skyliners by about 10 points.

Our second show that weekend, in Teaneck, NJ, we tied for first with the Caballeros. By the end of that weekend, I realized that I had taken a bit of a step up on the ladder of competitive drum corps. :whip:

1979...... we (Sunrisers) were coming off two straight DCA titles, and feeling pretty good about our chances for a third. Until our first show in Clifton, NJ, that is. That's when we saw the Buccaneers.... in their new "blue coat" uniforms, with their great hornline and show. Suddenly we didn't feel quite as good about a three-peat.....LOL

1981.... we debuted our new orange-tunic uniforms at our first show, also in Clifton. We were coming off a rough year in 1980.... and at that first show in 1981, I think we most definitely made a statement that the Sunrisers were back in the mix.

1982... again, our first show was at Clifton. We finished over six points behind the first-place Westshoremen, but honest to God I think we were just happy to be there and still be on the radar screen. We had gone through some rough months during the off-season ( I remember at one rehearsal, several us literally apologized to a prospective new member who had stopped in to check us out.... we asked that person to hang in there with us, that "we normally aren't this bad"....LOL), and kinda began pulling things together at the last minute.

Good times, indeed!

Fran