Tips for a rookie? (first year of in Corps)

Hi to all the Drum Corps fans and current members!

Some Facts about me:

I'm new to Drum Corps and this will be my first year marching a World Class Corps and I have to say that I'm extremely excited for this upcoming season.

I've been going to camps and have been working on my visual technique but I have a couple issues that may present a small challenge for me...

Getting to the point:

I have been in HS Marching Band for 4 years but nothing has been as close to the intensity of Drum Corps ....and well I have A.D.D. and I'm not very Bodily Kinesthetically intelligent

Let me put that into english

I have a hard time focusing at times and can get easily distracted, and I'm not as athletic as I would like to be (I am good musician though, at least I have that going for me) I've noticed at camps that I've been picked out by the visual staff as one of the guys who tends to need more help than others getting the technique down

So to all those vets out there, is it possible I could get some suggestions or help with this?

Edited by BrassFan17

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Talk to the vets of your corps. You can trust them, and they will be happy to help. They're not as big and scary as they may seem. Also, they can give you more help, and provide more support face-to-face than anyone on here can. No matter how qualified some people on here may be, they cannot be next to you giving you pointers, or evaluating your issues. Don't forget that if you go to the vets for help, they will see your commitment to the corps, and to getting better!

Log out and don't look back at DCP until your season is over... You will have more then enough time to talk Drum Corps when you march...

You seek advice...? Look to the vets of your home team...

Do not post any information about your season on DCP... Chances are your director has already told you this.. If not, the vets surely will.