Why so DANG MANY drummers?

Standing aside and watching The _Kid interact with directors during this audition cycle has prompted me to ask what, I think, is a structural question about music education in America.

On several occasions this cycle we've heard (paraphrasing to protect the innocent): "We sometimes have to extend into January to award contracts, especially with percussion because ...there's so darn many of them!

So, what's going on? I'm a drummer from the '70's, when drumming was cool, but what's caused the audition ranks to explode with budding Brandon-wanna-be's who think they can chop out with the BK, or PR, or BAC vet line?

Where the heck did all these drummers come from?

Is this the justifying genesis of DrumLine Battle?

Is it a healthy society that has so many drummers, banging on things, loose among it's population? Should some be sacrificed for the greater good?

It seems corps could set their lines by the end of the year if there weren't so dang many drummers chopping around. I don't hear that about the mellos, or the baris, or the pit...

Has the teaching community failed an entire generation by allowing too many of its kids to follow their in-bred inclination to bang on things?

(/parody and sarcasm wrapped in one post, kind-of)

Edited by garfield
  • Like 1

Gotta fill the pit with members somehow.... :silly:

s/ guy old enough to remember when the pit was to allow more perc to march.....

Sure, there have always been a lot of drummers trying ot for spots in corps, but remember...there aren't nearly as many spots for them as there are for brass. That said, there's a simple reason that the number of kids trying out for DCI and DCA corps is higher than at any point in years...